top of page

Mammo Mammo Mammogram!

What happens when you turn 24 and your mom gets breast cancer? You get to get your first mammogram! Hip Hip Hooray! Now what is a mammogram? A mammogram is an x-ray of the breast. For every 1,000 women who have a screening mammogram: 100 are recalled to get more mammography or ultrasound images. 20 are recommended for a needle biopsy. 5 are diagnosed with breast cancer. Now in my passion this was an important thing to do.


Dr. Stacey Keen Radiologist Physician, Breast Cancer Survivor “It’s very crucial for women to know that there is solid data supporting annual mammography, this significantly reduces the death rate from breast cancer, and has saved many lives.”



How does one prepare to have their boobs squeezed under glass? Someone told me that I should just open my refrigerator door, close the door on them 4 times, and that should set in the right feeling. Scary! Did not leave me in any shape to get this done. Once I got to the Doctors I totally contemplated walking out and canceling my appointment at least three times. After its all done and over I can tell you it wasn’t to bad, and I know that I’m taking my health seriously. Now I wait for the results.


bottom of page